3 Lok Sabha Constituencies of West Bengal goes to Poll in Second Phase

Phase II Loksabha Election 2019
Phase II Loksabha Election 2019
Azadi Ka Amrit Mahoutsav

3 Lok Sabha Constituencies of West Bengal go to Poll in Second Phase Tomorrow

By PIB Kolkata

Kolkata, April 17, 2019

Tomorrow three LS constituencies of West Bengal will go for vote in the second phase of General Election, 2019. In this phase of election, 96 Lok Sabha constituencies across 12 States and one Union Territory, including three constituencies of West Bengal-Jalpaiguri (SC), Darjeeling and Raigunj will be having poll. The polling in West Bengal will start at 7 am and continue till 6 pm. The Chief Electoral Officer’s Office, West Bengal has taken adequate measures to have free and fare election in these constituencies in the State.

A total number of 42 candidates from 11 political parties including Independents are going to try their fortunes in this phase of voting in West Bengal. Out of the 42 candidates, three are women. There are 5390 polling booths in West Bengal in this phase of election. The total number of voters in this phase is 4932346, out of which 2522887 are male voters and  2409372 female voters with 87 voters belonging to the third gender.

It is to be noted that Chief Election Commissioner Shri Sunil Arora and the Election Commissioners Shri Ashok Lavasa and Shri Sushil Chandra reviewed the poll arrangements in specific constituencies of West Bengal going to polls in second and third phases on Monday (April 15, 2019) through video-conferencing with General Observers, Police Observers and Expenditure Observers deployed in the three Parliamentary constituencies in West Bengal which are Jalpaiguri (SC), Darjeeling and Raigunj as well as Balurghat, Malda Uttar, Maldaha Dakshin, Jangipur, Murshidabad to go to voting in third phase of poll.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here