Darts Premier League Announced, Kolkata To Host First Edition

Left To Right: Ushashi Chakraborty, Gargi Roychowdhury, Ananya Chatterjee, Arunima Ghosh, Parijat Chakraborty, Sohini Sarkar & Sampurna Lahiri Inaugurating Darts Premier League.
Azadi Ka Amrit Mahoutsav

Kolkata|                                                                                                                                               Darts which require both aim and intelligence and are soon to be included in Olympic Games are yet to gain adequate popularity in India as compared to the European nations. It is about to change at least in this city to start with thanks to Darts Premier League.

Just the other day National Darts Academy in association with All India Darts Association announced the inaugural edition of the same which will be first of its kind in India. Like all premiere Leagues it will come complete with bells & whistles that is the ubiquitous celebs. There will be 9 Teams in all each of which will have a celeb Brand Ambassador.

Rituparna Sengupta will feature for Shinning Stars, Parijat Chakraborty for Aauris Strikers, Ananya Chatterjee for Apollo Arrows, Arunima Ghosh for Tungsten Creed, Gargi Roychowdhury for Sharp Shooters, Ushasie Chakraborty for Warriors, Rachel White for Eklavya,  Sampurna Lahiri for Arrow Heads while Sohini Sarkar will turn out for Magma Yoddha. All of them were present at the announcement al.ong with Anuj Sharma, IPS, President, Debashish Kumar, Vice-President, and Dileep Singh Mehta, Vice President, respectively of WBDA.Each of the 9 teams each having nine players including a marquee player, will compete in a round robin format. Players of each team to be selected via auction will be subjected to a 1, 00,000 INR price cap for the inaugural year. The players will be divided into three categories A, B & C for the auction. Group A will comprise of 7 marquee players, Group B will comprise of National champions & Group C will comprise of State champions. The Players’ Auction will be held on 12th May, 2016 at CCFC.

The owners of each teams are no less a heavy weight themselves. Shining Stars owned by Dilip Singh Mehta, Multicon Group, Aauris Strikers owned by Tajender Singh Saini, Aauris, Apollo Arrows owned by Rupali Basu, Apollo Hospitals, Tungsten Creed owned by Raghav Mundra, Simplex, Sharp Shooters owned by Firdausul Hasan, Warriors owned by Sarbani Malik, Eklavya owned by Amit Tibrewal, Amit International, Arrow Heads owned by A.D. Bhatia, Team Akash & Magma Yoddha owned by Kaushik Sinha, Magma Fincorp will fight it out till the end.

Each match will comprise five games including men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s double, open doubles & mixed doubles. The top four teams will qualify for the semifinals. The winning team will be awarded with a Trophy and prize money of 6, 00,000 INR & runners up with a Trophy and 4, 00,000 INR.

The tournament will begin from 5th June, 2016. The Semi-Finals & Finals will be held on 10th & 11th June, 2016 respectively. The matches will be played at Saturday Club, Bengal Club & CCFC.