Minerva Academy won 2016 Nike Premier Cup overcoming Royal Wahingdoh of Shillong by 4-3 Goals

Nike Premier League
Nike Premier League

I-League Media Team

GOA: Minerva Academy won a thrilling final to become the 2016 Nike Premier Cup winners after overcoming Royal Wahingdoh 4-3 in penalties at the Duler Stadium, Goa on Friday.

The match ended 1-1 in regulation time after Phrangki Buam’s (77) goal was cancelled out by Givson Singh (79).

Phrangki however missed the first spot-kick of the shoot-out while Hmingsang Zuala hit the crossbar when the score was tied at 3-3.

Substitute Prasan Chhetri stepped up and struck the winning penalty as Minerva Academy became the champions after winning 4-3.

The match was played under the watchful eyes of India U-17 coach Nicolai Adam while Kushal Das, General Secretary of All India Football Federation and Sunando Dhar, CEO of I-League were also present for the final.

Advertisements IBGNewsCovidService